My Second Heart

Oh, how much I love my second heart! It beats vibrant and strong. My second heart is my love for the culinary arts.

My second heart did not form until six or seven years ago, but it has never faded away. It is always there reminding me that I can provide food and create beauty. I love working in the kitchen, and that is where my second heart beats the strongest. The kitchen is my personal sanctuary.

I can watch the Food Network or the Cooking Channel for hours on end and never be bored. The energy from food shows just seeps into my skin and adds fuel to my fiery second heart.

I mentioned in my previous post about a surprise my parents had for me. That surprise was meeting my mom’s friend who is a chef. And goodness gracious, it was awesome! Just hearing about his culinary education and career and seeing him “in action” was fuel to my fiery second heart.

I aspire to call myself a chef just like him.

When I cook, I feel like a completely different person. A different kind of blood flows through my veins, and a new energy floods me. It is like a breath of fresh air — new air. Creating something, especially something new, is magical.

We have looked at culinary schools for me when we were engaged, but it just was not possible at the time with Mister’s military career. I chose marriage over culinary school, and I do not regret that decision in the least because my first heart, my love for my husband, beats stronger than my second heart. It always will. Sure, some day, I would like to complete a culinary arts program; but my second heart will not be broken if I do not. My second heart could never be broken because I can provide food and create beauty for my husband and that is all the gratification I need.

3 thoughts on “My Second Heart

  1. Pingback: Blessings, Big and Small #2-7 | Faith Full Marriage

  2. Pingback: 21 Facts About Me for My 21st Birthday | Faith Full Marriage

  3. Pingback: A Perfect Birthday Celebration | Faith Full Marriage

Leave a comment